PATIENT ALERT: Masks are now optional in our VOA offices. If you are immunocompromised or feeling ill, masking is strongly encouraged. Thank you. CLICK HERE for more details​​​​​​. For more information on the nationwide shortage of two platinum-based anticancer drugs, CLICK HERE.

Breast Cancer

Types of Breast Cancer

Did you know there are several different kinds of breast cancer? But how are they different? Use this guide to learn more about breast cancer types, how they are determined, and how they are classified.

After a breast cancer diagnosis, your medical team will need to determine the specific type of breast cancer you have. To do this, an in-depth evaluation will be done on the tissue sample collected from your breast biopsy, or on the tumor itself after your breast cancer surgery.

There are several factors that are looked at when determining breast cancer type, including:

  1. The origin point of the cancer cells
  2. How the breast cancer cells look under the microscope
  3. How the cancer cells react to hormones
  4. The breast cancer cells’ genetic makeup 

Understanding the Different Breast Cancer Types

Breast cancer occurs in two broad categories: invasive and noninvasive. Invasive (infiltrating) means that the cancer has spread to surrounding tissues. Noninvasive (in situ) means that the cancerous cells are still confined to their point of origin.

Sometimes, there can be a combination of different cancer types within a single breast tumor. In some cases, where the cancer type is very rare, a lump or tumor may never form at all.

Common Types of Breast Cancer

There are certain breast cancers that are more common than others. Some specific types of common breast cancer include:

Ductal carcinoma in situ

Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) is a non-invasive breast cancer where abnormal cells have been contained in the lining of the breast milk duct. DCIS isn’t considered life-threatening, but it can increase the risk of developing invasive breast cancer later on. Most recurrences happen within 5-10 years after initial diagnosis.


Lobular carcinoma in situ

Lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS) is also sometimes called lobular neoplasia. Though the name can be confusing, LCIS is actually not considered a cancer or a pre-cancer because it doesn’t turn into invasive cancer if untreated. Rather, LCIS is an indication that a person is at a higher risk of getting breast cancer later on.


Invasive ductal carcinoma

Invasive ductal carcinoma (IDC) means that abnormal cells that originated in the lining of the breast milk duct have invaded surrounding tissue. Over time, IDC can spread to the lymph nodes and possibly to other areas of the body. This is the most common type of breast cancer, accounting for approximately 80% of all breast cancers.

Invasive lobular carcinoma

Invasive lobular carcinoma (ILC) starts in the milk-producing glands (lobules) and can spread to other parts of the body. It is the second most common form of invasive breast cancer, accounting for 10 to 15% of breast cancer cases.

Invasive breast cancers will most likely require an oncology team to treat to create a treatment plan using one or more of the following treatments:

  • Chemotherapy
  • Hormone therapy
  • Biologic therapy
  • Radiation therapy
  • Surgery

Less Common Types of Breast Cancer

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

A less common type of breast cancer, accounting for 1-3% of all breast cancers is inflammatory breast cancer (IBC). IBC often appears to be an infection (breast red, swollen, and inflamed), but it is actually cancer that is blocking lymphatic vessels in the skin and breast tissue, causing a buildup of fluid (lymph). Read our blog to learn more about inflammatory breast cancer.

A few other rare types of breast cancer are diagnosed each year including:

Paget disease of the nipple

This type of breast cancer starts in the breast ducts and spreads to the skin of the nipple and then to the areola, the dark circle around the nipple. This type of breast cancer only accounts for about 1% of all cases of breast cancer.

Phyllodes tumor

Phyllodes tumors are rare breast tumors. These tumors develop in the connective tissue (stroma) of the breast and grow in a leaflike pattern. Although phyllodes tumors tend to grow quickly, they rarely spread outside the breast.


Angiosarcoma is a cancer in the inner lining of blood vessels that can occur in any part of the body. This form of cancer rarely occurs in the breast.